cornbread waffles or johnny cakes (with or without summer squash)

17 Sep

I served them with baked beans on top for rave reviews. Do what you will.

With squash – it made 13 Belgian waffles. Without, I think it made 10.

1 1/2 cups flour of choice (I used UltraGrain)
1 1/2 cups cornmeal
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
2 cups rice milk (I used rice because I think it makes them lighter and crispier, but go ahead and use whatever)
2 Tbsp oil
(3 small summer squash, grated)

Mix the dry, then add the wet. Make as pancakes (‘johnny cakes’) if you wish, or as waffles. Each time you put the mix in the waffle maker, spray it down well with some spray oil. For my particular waffle maker (belgian style), it takes 1/3 cup batter for each waffle. I like to leave it in a while longer after the light goes off for a crisper waffle.

One Response to “cornbread waffles or johnny cakes (with or without summer squash)”

  1. Hannah December 24, 2009 at 5:45 pm #

    I keep looking this up and making it. It is now a family staple. Little Guy eats it up like nothing else. Thanks, oosphere!

Leave a comment