biscuits

30 Jun

I don’t know why I’ve been opposed to roll biscuits for so long – I just kept thinking they were a ton more work, but not really. I was inspired by Jessica’s biscuits that she made for dinnershare that one time.

Based off this biscuit recipe, adjusted slightly. I tried making them with “buttermilk” soymilk, and it really didn’t change anything, so I would just skip that like I did here.

Makes six LARGE biscuits

2 cups flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
1 Tbsp sugar
1/3 cup shortening
3/4 cup soymilk

Preheat oven to 425′. In a food processor, pulse the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar a couple of times to mix. Add in the shortening and pulse until uniformly crumbly. Gradually add in milk and process for about a minute, until dough is a big blob in the food processor. Pat or roll dough out to 1 inch thick. Cut biscuits with a large cutter or juice glass dipped in flour. Repeat until all dough is used. Place biscuits onto an ungreased baking sheet. Bake for 13 to 15 minutes in the preheated oven, or until edges begin to brown.

Leave a comment