Caswell Carrot Cake & Cream Cheeze Frosting

15 Jul

For Brook’s birthday, based off Celeste’s Best recipe…

1 cup raisins (golden would be nice, I used regular)
2 cups flour
2 cups sugar
2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 Tbsp pumpkin pie spice
1 cup oil
1 can pumpkin puree
4 eggs’ worth of egg replacer (I used Ener-G)
1 tsp vanilla
1 cup chopped pecans
4 medium carrots, grated
(1/2 cup large coconut flakes – I’ll add those next time)

-Preheat oven to 350′.
-Soak raisins in warm water, set aside.
-Mix dry ingredients together. Create a well in the center and add wet ingredients in. Stir until mixed. Add pecans and carrots (I just grate them into the bowl). Drain raisins and add in as well.
-Spread into two well-greased 9″ round pans and bake 30-40 minutes, until toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
-Cool completely before frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting
1 container cream cheese (Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese)
1 stick margarine (Earth Balance)
1 tsp vanilla
2-3 cups powdered sugar

Beat together the cream cheese, margarine and vanilla until smooth. Add sugar on low speed, adding until desired texture, then beat until fluffy.

8 Responses to “Caswell Carrot Cake & Cream Cheeze Frosting”

  1. Neesha August 19, 2009 at 5:16 pm #

    How big of a cake did this make? I guess 9×13 sheet cake?

    • rm August 19, 2009 at 6:20 pm #

      I made a layer cake – 2 9″ rounds. It could also make a 9×13″

  2. Neesha August 19, 2009 at 7:56 pm #

    Awesome, I’m gonna try it. Do you think it would be good without coconut and without raisins?

    • rm August 19, 2009 at 9:11 pm #

      It was good without coconut, I like the raisins in it but they are not necessary.

    • rm August 19, 2009 at 9:12 pm #

      If you try it, I will eat it! That is, if you’re sharing 🙂

      • Neesha August 20, 2009 at 3:22 pm #

        I’ll let you know when I try it!!

  3. Neesha December 14, 2009 at 6:22 pm #

    I doubled this recipe this weekend and made cupcakes with it. I expected to make 48 cupcakes but it ended up making 54. I did not add the coconut flakes but I did add the golden raisins and pecans. It was delicious! I do the cream cheese frosting a little differently – my proportion is closer to 1 to 1 on cream cheese to margarine. I made the cupcakes for Megan’s going away party and they were a big hit!

    • rm December 15, 2009 at 12:59 am #

      Awesome! I made these as cupcakes on the same day for the birthday party I was going to (conflict with megan’s going away). I made one batch, and it made 35 cupcakes! Insanity!

Leave a Reply

