jerusalem artichokes

4 Jul

I had a bag of these ‘jerusalem artichokes’ (aka ‘sunchokes’) from our CSA box, with no idea what to do with them. They looked like ginger roots and supposedly tasted like potatoes… hmmmm….

Cleaning and slicing:
First off, some of the recipes suggested peeling them. I didn’t because 1) I’m lazy and 2) I don’t peel potatoes either. They were pretty dirty (they are a root vegetable!), so I rinsed them off first… then broke any large nobs off of the main thing so that they were easy to slice. I then sliced them into about 1/4-1/2″ thick slices, put them in a bowl filled with water and agitated them a while, then rinsed. I did this a few times until I was satisfied there was no more dirt on them.

Cooking:
Olive oil
Garlic
Salt

Heat a good layer of olive oil in a pot. Add the sunchoke slices and fry uncovered, stirring every couple minutes, for about five minutes. Add in a handful of peeled, whole garlic cloves and some salt. Cover and cook about twenty minutes on medium heat, stirring every five minutes. Taste ’em – they should be done now.

Verdict:
These were yummy. I don’t know why I was surprised that they actually tasted like artichokes! If I ever receive them again, I will be excited. I might either try roasting them like new potatoes and serving them with tahini sauce, or tossing them with some vegenaise in a kind of cold potato-y, artichokey salad.

3 Responses to “jerusalem artichokes”

  1. jess July 18, 2009 at 5:58 pm #

    rosa-m,
    how is the crop share working out for you guys?
    do you mind if i ask what the cost is?
    i’m thinking of doing it in CA.

    • rm July 18, 2009 at 6:05 pm #

      It’s awesome so far. We belong to a big farm, so there is lots and lots of variety, which I think is key. It’s easy to burn out on tomatoes-peppers-okra, you know? It is $300 for 10 boxes, each box lasts us 2 weeks since we do the dinnershare thing, so $300 for 20 weeks worth of fresh-local-organic veggies is not bad.

      • rm July 18, 2009 at 6:05 pm #

        we were on the waiting list for a long time though.

Leave a comment